University honor societies recognize academic excellence

Being selected to an academic honor society is a hard-earned distinction. We congratulate the following students for attaining induction into these prestigious organizations.

Beta Gamma Sigma (main photo, inductees and faculty): International business society. BGS membership is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International.  Students must be in the top 10% of undergraduate students, top 20% of graduate students, or a doctoral candidate who has successfully defended their dissertation.

LSBE Interim Dean Dr. Praveen Aggarwal formally welcomed 28 students from various LSBE majors and programs as new BGS members. 

Undergraduate and MBA-candidate inductees are Kayleigh Anderson, Jacob Bowens, Tyler Collien, Thomas Erickson, William Faul, Dr. Karina Gonzalez Carta, Aman Gupta, Braden Huppert, Kale Johnson, Lexy Johnson, Hannah Keilen, Anna Kytonen-Coffman, Jenna Lawry, Kai Lin, AJ Lomen, Tyren Mattick, Max McDonough, Lauren Pavey, Ashley Penniman, Emma Plemel, Allison Rients, Ryder Rolbiecki, Masyn Shaide, Genevieve Steiner, Aidan Tarpenning, Dr. Nicole Varela, and Lucas Wolner.

Current BGS VP – Internal Affairs Ethan Dale was awarded the Beta Gamma Sigma Matching Scholarship Award “in recognition of outstanding academic achievements and exemplary commitment to educational excellence.”

Dale and fellow BGS student leaders Anh Vuh and Megan Kohel spoke before Essentia Health CFO Traci Morris delivered the keynote speech. Geoff Bell, associate professor of Management Studies, was awarded BGS Professor of the Year for his dedication to excellence in teaching. 

ODE inductees,  Economics faculty, and Interim Chancellor David McMillan
ODE inductees,  Economics faculty, and Interim Chancellor David McMillan

Omicron Delta Epsilon: The international honor society for economics is one of the world's largest academic honor societies. Attaining membership in ODE is a significant academic achievement, as members are recognized for scholastic success within the economics discipline.  Economics majors must attain a 3.0 or better in economics courses and an overall GPA of at least 3.0. Currently, Omicron Delta Epsilon has over 715 chapters located in 12 countries.

UMD’s Interim Chancellor David McMillan attended this year’s ceremony. Student inductees were Ethan Ion, Ashlyn Klocke, and Avery Wendinger.


UPD inductees, Health Care Management faculty, and Interim Chancellor David McMillan
UPD inductees, Health Care Management faculty, and Interim Chancellor David McMillan

Upsilon Phi Delta: UPD is the national academic honor society for students in healthcare administration.  Health Care Management majors must earn a GPA of 3.25 or higher in 18 or more credit hours of course work after officially declaring a healthcare administration major. The mission of the Upsilon Phi Delta Honor Society is to recognize, reward, and encourage academic excellence in the study of healthcare management and policy.  UPD is a part of the Association of University Programs in Health Administration. There are over 75 chapters located across the U.S. and Canada. 

UMD’s Interim Chancellor David McMillan attended this year’s ceremony. 

Student inductees were Amber Marie Biniek, Liam Thomas Dublin, Lauren Sarah Hansen, Cory Hanson, Rachel Kero, Julia Lee, Katie Lenneman, Ethan Martin, Uyen Nguyen, Jacqueline Faith Olander, Valerie Perez-Rudell, Emma Plemel, Cassie Williams, Kristin Williams, Maddy Worden, and Alea Zemlicka. 


Publication Date